Charter

What is Remix the Commons?

Remix the Commons is an open intercultural space for sharing and co-creating multimedia documents about the commons. Remix the Commons supports production, animation and distribution projects on the commons.

What are the shared resources of Remix the Commons?

Remix the Commons offers a catalogue of documents in different forms about the commons, categorized by type of commons and by issue for the movement of the commons.

What can Remix the Commons do for you?

The website of Remix the Commons allows you to distribute and share your documents, to use and freely remix the documents that have been added by users who have authorized it. Remix the Commons also offers pedagogical, technical and operational assistance to people with production, animation and remixing projects.

Who can use Remix the Commons?

The resources shared by Remix the Commons are made available to everyone, including individuals and organizations.

What are your responsibilities?

To share and take part in Remix the Commons by adhering to its mission, its values and its rules of functioning.
To pay special consideration to people, particularly to the authors and contributors, and take care of the tools and media of Remix the Commons.
To contribute to the media catalogue, help with maintenance and the improvement of the pedagogical, logistic, conceptual, material and technical resources and participate in the governance of Remix the Commons.
To contribute to the documentation of the project, the shared resources and the governance of Remix the Commons.

How are the resources shared in Remix the Commons?

The documents

The media documents shared by Remix the Commons are the property of their authors and are put under the intellectual property license of their choice. The media files are put under a free license : CC BY, CC.BY.SA, Dom Pub, C0, and can be added to the Remix the Commons collection, as well as hosted and distributed on the Remix platform.

Remix the Commons encourages the authors of the original media documents and remixed documents to put their work under an intellectual property license that permits the remixing and the reuse of the contents and insures the viral distribution of these documents.

The catalogue

The catalogue of media documents of Remix the Commons is a collective and collaborative work within which the contents are put under a Creative Commons BY SA license so that each contributor owns the rights to his or her contributions.

The platform

The tools, the developed processes and the documentation of Remix the Commons are based on software and technologies that are open source or under copyleft licenses.

How is Remix the Commons governed?

Remix the Commons is a common good. Its governance is collective and collaborative.
By governance, we mean a process of reflection, decision making and evaluation based on open and enlightened partnerships between the different stakeholders of the project, at the local as well as global level and in an intercultural group dynamic.

Remix the Commons’ governance is horizontal. Remix the Commons’ decisions are taken by the general assembly of users who wish to become a part of the collective. This collective meets regularly and the decisions are made by means of a discussion list of which the archives are made public. The decisions are adopted by consensus or on the principle that one person equals one voice.

The authentically open governance of Remix the Commons respects the principles of communication and participation of the public. Remix the Commons ensures that genuinely accessible means are made available in terms of ergonomics, accessibility and limiting technical pre-requisites. Remix the Commons has the vocation to liberate itself from the heart of its founding collective.

Who can contribute and finance Remix the Commons?

Remix the Commons’ means are assembled through the pooling of resources from individual and organizations volunteers. They ensure not to report separately to the same donors and to keep public their financing and contributions to the project.

What Remix the Commons is not?

  • Remix the Commons is not a library or encyclopedia on the commons.
  • Remix the Commons is not a multimedia production company.
  • Remix the Commons is not a space which collects all media managed in the commons. It is not a substitute of Wiki Commons for example.

Version 0.2 – December 17th 2011

The Remix the Commons Charter is a tool in constant evolution that develops with the project’s contributors.

Charte

Qu’est-ce que Remix Biens Communs ?

Remix Biens Communs est un espace ouvert et interculturel de partage, de co-création et de remix de documents sur les biens communs. Remix Biens Communs appuie des projets de production, d’animation et de diffusion sur les biens communs.

Qu’elles sont les ressources partagées de Remix Biens Communs ?

Remix Biens Communs partage un catalogue de documents en différents médias sur les biens communs, classés par type de biens communs et par enjeux pour le mouvement des communs.

Qu’est-ce que Remix Biens Communs vous apporte ?

Le site web de Remix biens communs vous permet de diffuser et partager vos documents, d’utiliser et remixer librement les documents déposés par les contributeurs qui l’autorisent. le collectif remix biens communs offre aussi une assistance pédagogique, technique et opérationnelle aux projets de production et d’animation et aux remix.

Qui peut utiliser Remix Biens communs?

Les ressources mises en partage par Remix Biens Communs sont mises à disposition de toutes et tous, particuliers ou organisations.

Quelles sont vos responsabilités?

Partager et prendre part à Remix Biens Communs en adhérant à sa mission, ses valeurs et règles de fonctionnement.

Porter attention aux personnes, et notamment aux auteurs et aux contributeurs, et veiller sur les outils et les médias de Remix Biens Communs.

Contribuer au catalogage des médias, aider à l’entretien et à l’amélioration des ressources pédagogiques et logistiques, conceptuelles, matériels et techniques et participer à la gouvernance de Remix Biens Communs.

Contribuer à la documentation du projet, des ressources mises en communs et à la gouvernance de Remix Biens Communs.

Comment se partagent les ressources dans Remix Biens Communs?

Les documents

Les documents médiatiques mis en partage par Remix Biens Communs sont la propriété de leurs auteurs et placés sous le régime de propriété intellectuelle qu’ils ont choisi. Les fichiers des médias placés sous une licence libre : CC BY, CC.BY.SA, Dom Pub, C0, peuvent être téléversés au fonds de Remix Biens Communs, et faire l’objet de d’hébergement et de diffusion par la plateforme remix Biens Communs.

Remix Biens Communs incite les auteurs de documents médiatiques orignaux et de remix à placer leurs oeuvres sous un régime de propriété intellectuelle qui permet le remix et la réutilisation des contenus et assure la diffusion virale de ces médias.

Le catalogue

Le catalogue de documents médiatiques de Remix Biens Communs est une œuvre collective et collaborative « inappropriable » dont les contenus sont placés sous licence Creative Commons BY SA afin que chaque contributeur soit bien titulaire d’un droit sur ses apports.

La plateforme

Les outils, les processus développés et la documentation de Remix Biens Communs sont basés sur des logiciels et des technologies libres et placés sous licence copyleft.

Comment se gouverne Remix Biens Communs ?

Remix Biens Communs est un bien commun. Sa gouvernance est collective et collaborative.

Par gouvernance, on entend une démarche de réflexion, de prise de décision, et d’évaluation fondée sur un partenariat ouvert et éclairé entre les différents acteurs et parties prenantes du projet, tant à l’échelle locale que globale et dans une dynamique interculturelle.

La gouvernance de Remix Biens Communs est de type horizontal.
Les décisions et les orientations de Remix Biens Communs sont prises par l’assemblée générale des utilisateurs qui souhaitent être membres du collectif Remix Biens Communs. Le collectif Remix Biens Communs est réuni à intervalles réguliers. Les décisions sont actualisées au travers d’une liste de discussion dont les archives sont publiques. Elles sont adoptées par consensus ou sur le principe de un/e homme/femme égale une voix.

Gouvernance authentiquement ouverte
Remix Biens Communs respecte les principes de la communication et de la participation grand public. Remix Biens Communs veille à mettre à disposition des moyens réellement accessibles en terme d’ergonomie, d’accessibilité aux personnes et en limitant les pré-requis techniques.

Remix Biens Communs a vocation à se libérer du giron du collectif fondateur.

Qui peut contribuer et financer Remix Biens Communs ?

Les moyens de Remix Biens Communs sont réunis sur la base de la mutualisation volontaire des ressources de personnes et d’organisations. Celles-ci veillent à ne pas se présenter séparément aux mêmes bailleurs de fonds et tiennent une comptabilité publique des financements et des contributions réunies pour le développement de Remix biens communs.

Qu’est-ce que Remix Biens Communs n’est pas ?

  • Remix Biens Communs n’est pas une bibliothèque encyclopédique sur les biens communs.
  • Remix Biens Communs n’est pas une entreprise de production multimédia.
  • Remix Biens Communs n’est pas un espace de collecte de tout les médias gérés en biens communs. Il ne se substitue pas à Wiki Commons par exemple.

La charte de Remix Biens Communs est un outil en évolution qui se construit avec les contributeurs au projet.

Version 0.2 – 17 décembre 2014